Obama and Notre Dame

While I try to ignore Catholic institutions as a general rule, I have thoroughly enjoyed the creative ways in which outraged Catholics have expressed their disapproval over Notre Dame’s commencement speaker, Barack Obama. A close family member is in the administration at the university, and she has gleefully told me about all the emails, phone calls, and even handwritten(!) notes she has received from all those offended. However, in the weeks since the announcement was made, Notre Dame has – surprisingly – not rescinded the invitation, and I thought it was pretty much over.

I love being wrong, especially when the New York Times weighs in. But Pat Buchanan is an all-time favorite. I mean, he says – with a straight angry face – that everyone killed by the death penalty is guilty. Really? Someone better tell them that they’re wasting their lives.

1 Response to “Obama and Notre Dame”


  1. 1 mccaffray April 12, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    This reminds of of the whole Tariq Ramadan thing: http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/articles/A64700-2004Dec14.html
    ND admin people who disagree with Obama should know better.


Leave a comment